In 1801, His Royal Highness, Frederick Duke of York laid the foundation stone of the Duke of York’s Royal Military School in Chelsea. It opened as Britain’s first coeducational state funded and state administered school in 1803. The School later moved to Dover in 1909. The School’s own museum tells of this rich narrative.
The School Colours.
The Duke of York's Royal Military School is unique amongst English schools in that it has the right to carry Colours.
The School's Colours were first presented in 1825 by His Royal Highness, King George IV, brother of our founder, Field Marshal, His Royal Highness, The Duke of York. Colours were subsequently presented in 1897 by Their Royal Highnesses, The Duke and Duchess of York (later George V and Queen Mary); 1934 by General Sir Cyril Deverell; 1965 by General Sir Reginald Hewitson; while in 1924, the Duke of York (later King George VI) presented a new King’s Colour – this was awarded to reflect the sacrifices made by fallen Dukies during the Great War. In 2003, the School’s bicentenary year, His Royal Highness, Field Marshal, The Duke of Kent KG, GCMG, GCVO, ADC presented our current Colours.
When not “on parade” the Colours reside in the Principal’s office.